When can an undergraduate student take his/her 1st CFA exam?

Hello,

I am currently an 2nd year univerisity student at the undergraduate level and am very interested in taking the CFA exams.

I have heard from many sources that undergraduate students can take their first CFA lvl 1 whenever they like.

However the CFA institute site states that an undergraduate student must be in his/her final year of study before they are able to register for their first exam.

I am confused as professors at my university and the website offer contradicting information…

When can an undergraduate take his/her first exam?

Professors at your university are not administering the exam, the CFAI is, so I would go with what the CFAI website says.

As edupristine might say…

The CFA exams are normally given the first day in June. You can take the exam at several locations worldwide after you have paid for the exam and registration.

I hope It is clear….

[Edited by S2000magician]

In all seriousness though - CFAI says that you have to be in your final year of college. I don’t know if they ever verify it, or if they even ask to see any kind of documentation. So I suppose you could go all the way through the program without ever going to a single college class.

here are some absolutely brilliant insights from edupristine from another thread:

Edupristine even teaches students the course material of CPA in India.

if i remember correctly, cfai requires you to either a) have a undergrad degree or b) be in your fourth year of college or have an equivalent amount of time in combination of work & education. (there are folks getting their college degree in 2-3 years.)

if you’ve served in the army already, you most likely will have accumulated the required work experience/ education.