Why CFA?

Curious what are the reasons behind everyone wanting a career in Finance or pursuing the CFA

It’s real simple for me. I can’t see myself in any other profession. When other kids in grade school wanted to be astronauts or baseball players, I wanted to work in investments. Why the CFA? It’s the premier designation in this industry.

I am not pursuing the CFA designation

The Money. It’s like a drug. Also, it helps pay for drugs, which are REALLY like drugs.

For positive reasons: I want to gain the knowledge and career advancement. For “other” reasons: so MD/Department heads will stop asking me why I have an english lit degree or not asking as the case may be. For “practical” reasons: I do not have my BSD yet and need something that is universally recognized.

numi Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I am not pursuing the CFA designation why have you stopped numi? give l2 one more shot. I don’t ‘need’ the qualification to progress in my career but it’s something I just want to do…

Boredom. HoldSideAnalyst also makes some great points.

NYSSA sponsored orgies…although the quality of female charterholders isn’t turning out to be quite what I was expecting while taking the tests Probably shoulda known better

i like finance/economics, money and competition. plus, i couldn’t be a gangster or a prominent scholar so this was the closest thing.