Will CFA designation help in commercial banking?

Hi all,

I’m a new grad from university and accepted an offer from a commercial bank. The position is Financial Analyst and I’ll be part of a rotational program that will give me exposure to different aspects of the bank. I don’t know the exact job duties yet. So my question is, will passing CFA exams help me progress within a commercial bank?

Thanks.

sorry, won’t help one bit. you’re screwed.

It will be helpful if it helps you understand cash flows, interest rates, or other things that are relevant to commercial banking.

Hmm. Interesting. I thought CFA would be more helpful since the job title is financial analyst… The employer is Capital One, if it matters. Do they have any business line where holding a charter would be beneficial? Or, do they have any business line where the experience would qualify for the 4 years of work experience requirement?

Well, “financial analyst” is a very generic title. It can mean anything, CFA-related or not. I’m sure Capital One has some jobs that qualify for CFA experience. However, I wouldn’t advise you to make the CFA your life goal. Pursue the job that is the best fit for you, and then do the CFA if it still makes sense.

The CFA program is a great background for any person working in finance to have regardless. Some jobs you won’t use it at all (bank teller) and some jobs you will.

I would think the CFA will help in general terms. The real issue is whether it is overkill in terms of the effort vs. the reward if you are simply going to use it in commercial banking.

Thanks for the replies. I did some googling and apparently the position “Financial Analyst” covers duties like budgeting (I thought this would be an accounting job) to securities research. Still doesn’t help me though… On another note, if the fees of the CFA curriculum is eligible for reimbursement, is that an indicator that the employer values and encourages pursuing the designation?