Will CFA help me switch careers?

Hello All,

well lo cut things short, I am a 26 YO mechanical engineer who recently realized that engineering is not for him. I have made a huge mistake becoming an engineer where I should have aimed for a financial degree.

Recently ive been reading a lot of books about finance and investing, and to tell you the truth I cant even put the books down.

I decided to take the CFA examinations, but I got really discouraged from the work experience requirements needed for charted status.

I have no investment relevant work experience and wont have by the time I complete level 3. However, my main question is: Will CFA help me switch careers when I pass level 3 examination? Or do you think I will be wasting a lot of time and effort pursuing CFA when I will not even be considered a charter holder?

Probably not, not nowadays. Only if you know someone…

But you are young enough to go for a MFE/Phd. It will take you less time, you have the relevant background.

Then you can always do a cfa.

I switched careers by doing a MFE and I’m now doing CFA (and I have a great job)

A masters degree (MBA etc) from one of the top finance schools (U.Penn, Columbia, Chicago , MIT) would be the most surefire way into the industry.

Of course you can! And yes CFA will help you out alot.

Pass level 1, then take a pay cut and get a job in finance. Don’t assume you’d be done all 3 levels before having the work experience, that’s pressumptuous.

I think it is an enviable position to be in to have an engineering background with CFA.

MBA (network + on campus recruiting).

Not just any MBA though. An MBA from your local neighbourhood 200th-ranked b-school will probably not help.

Depends if he wants to stay in his local neighbourhood.