Work for Credit Rating Agency or IB Shop

Pls. help me compare the two offers, assuming base salary and commute are the same and no biased preferences - Senior Analyst at a credit rating agency (S&P, Moodys) in the structured finance team - Senior Analyst at a top IB shop (ML, BS) in the Credit Derivatives team Pls. provide comparison on the following grounds: - Safety (lower probability of layoff) - Learning (I am relatively new to credit derivatives; have more experience with structured finance) - Earning potential (how does the bonus compare between IB and Rating agencies) - Work culture (sweatshop vs. cool place to work; beuraucratic, etc.) - Benefits (gym, training, etc.) Is it true that the org hierarchy is different between IB shops and Credit Rating agencies (eg. Director reports to VP in the latter). If you know, list the typical hierarchy, pls.

safety (lower probability of layoff)? remember what happened to Andersens as a consequence of them signed off on a bunch of dodgy audits? now what do you think might happen to the rating agencies as a consequence of handing out AAA ratings to a bunch of dodgy credit derivatives products/funds? in theory - credit rating agencies are supposed to be boring business with low pay - bit like index funds. Remember they’re owned by publishing houses - they are just information agencies essentially. In practice they’ve evolved so now they’re all on the payroll of the IB industry - selling AAA ratings to the highest bidder - so it’s big yachts and bentleys all 'round…or at least that’s what they’re aspiring to. when the dust settles, you’re much better off in IB. The fact that credit rating agencies can even seriously compete for talent is a big worry in itself…the very fact that you’re even asking the question speaks volumes… agencies are probably a great place for training for a few years if you are young - but look at it as just training for the main game…