Work Life Balance

Hi there - I have recently completed the CFA program and starting to look for a new career in the capital market industry. I haven’t worked in the industry before, but have a strong financial analysis background along with and MBA and accounting designation. My main concern right now is that I have been working for that past 3 years in the non-for-profit sector and have been spoiled with a 9 - 4:30pm job while doing only about 20 hours of actual work a week. I haven’t taken my laptop home with me since the first week of working here. My question is about which types of jobs are out there in the capital markets that allow you to keep some type of work life balance? Thanks

Generally in finance, more money equals more stress and/or hours, especially for entry-level positions. If you become a rich HF manager, than maybe you can get analysts to do all the work for you. However, most people who become that successful have made tremendous personal sacrifices early in their careers.

jimmylndn Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I have been working for that past 3 years > in the non-for-profit sector and have been spoiled > with a 9 - 4:30pm job while doing only about 20 > hours of actual work a week. I work in the yes-for-profit sector and my workload isn’t that much different. It’s just a matter of how productive/how much value you add during those hours that matter.