Years of Experience

Hi, just passed LII so first time contributor in this forum. This may be a completely ignorant question and I’ve searched for it with no results, but has it always been a required 4 years? I could be completely wrong or misread something but I remember reading 3 years when I entered the program a year ago. I only ask because I took L1 right after I graduated from college from school and took L2 this past June. I’ve only logged 1 year of experience, meaning that if I am lucky enough to pass L3 next June I would have to wait a full 2 years to even get the charter. Is anyone else in a situation like mine, or had a similar misread or misunderstanding?

Used to be 3 years, then CFAI changed it to 4 years. I think if you started in 2006, it’s 4 years. If you started in 2005 or before, it’s still 3 years. The CFA website used to have a page describing this.

The same here. I just thought that since generally the % of failures is quite high it is better to start earlier. And the fact that you passed some exams adds you some value even without charter.

Ambiter Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Used to be 3 years, then CFAI changed it to 4 > years. I think if you started in 2006, it’s 4 > years. If you started in 2005 or before, it’s > still 3 years. The CFA website used to have a > page describing this. Sort of. You had to be a member by a certain date in order to get the 3 year rule. If you haven’t applied for membership yet (you normally don’t until you at least pass L2), then it is 4 years now.