Yet another guy with no finance background...

Hi all, I have a couple questions – my apologies if such questions have already been posted numerous times on this forum. 1) As mentioned in the topic, I have no finance background at all, but have degrees in mathematics and statistics from the University of Minnesota, which have fairly rigorous programs in those respective fields. As such, I have quite a bit of knowledge regarding topics such as time series analysis, linear regression, sampling design, statistical theory, multivariate analysis, non-parametric methods, and so on. So, with my stat and math knowledge, along with the little bit of economics knowledge I have, would I fare well in pursuing a CFA if I had enough dedication with regard to studying? I’m pretty sure I’d fare well, but my next point troubles me a little… 2) How would I enter the field of financial analysis without relevant work experience? At the moment, I’m a Catastrophe Risk Analyst for a reinsurance company in Minnesota, and I’m pretty sure that wouldn’t count as qualified work experience to be granted a CFA Charter. Does anyone have any helpful advice or suggestions about this? I guess what I’m trying to ask is would this process even be worth my time? Is there anyone out there in the same situation as I am who has made this work? Thanks much.

Gah, my apologies for not posting this in the General Discussion forum. I’d be much obliged if this post could be moved. Thanks.