Your expert advice on IRS/Swaptions

Hi…I couldn’t think of better financial advisorsthan you guys! I have also taken L3 this year and been reading the site quite a bit. I work in the financial sector in a small country and we don’t use IRS/Swaptions…However now finding the need as our clients are looking for fixed rate foreign currency loan (around 8years tenor). We thus need to hedge… Our one correspondent bank has proposed a 4 year IRS, with a swaption for the remaining 4 years. They haven’t sent us their pricing yet…As I only know swaps in theory, I would really appreciate your advice. Do you think it’s the ideal hedging solution? I think it will be quite expensive. What other alternatives can we look at? Obviously the correpondent banks will give us solutions that are more ‘convenient’ for them than for us! Thanks!

No one can answer your question because it depends on the client and his situation.

when the client ‘needs’ Fixed rate forex loan… why not go all the way with IRS…by going into a swaption it seems taht client wants an exit startegy in 4 years…Thus you need to outline the client and its situation(aS suggested by Bacaladitos) as your problem structure is kind of contradictory IMHO

Thanks guys…in fact the situation is as follows: Am the bank (X) lending for around 8 years fixed rate USD to my client (Y)…Now having lent fixed rate, I need to hedge my exposure from increasing rates. Thus wish to do an interest rate swap for 8 years (long period) where I’ll receive the fixed payments…I have asked for a quote from an international bank (Z) and the latter proposed an IRS for 4 years with an option attached for the remaining 4 years whereby either party (Z and me) can let the option expire. My view is that I’ll still be left exposed to the risk after the 4 years if Z doesn’t exercise. Are there any other alternatives hedge the risk which is long term?