Your story...

I’m curious to know what everyone thinks about telling “your story” during a job interview (2nd/3rd rounds)? Where you grew up, or a compelling story how you over came some personal objectives to get where you are today? It seems that during 1st round of interviews, employers check for competence, then I feel after that they test for fit. But I’m hesitate to talk about my personal life, because I don’t want to be “too loose” and unprofessional. Do you guys think there maybe personal topics you can and maybe should talk about? Example. I grew up in a poor family; worked and self-funded my college tuition at a top school, where I graduated top in my class.

I’d definitely talk about that stuff - telling your story is all about making yourself memorable. You don’t just want to come across as someone with just good grades and ok jobs - nobody will remember you. I always encourage people to say something that has some real “wow” factor. Especially in this economy, people that don’t have that factor get their resumes placed in a recycling bin.

numi Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I’d definitely talk about that stuff - telling > your story is all about making yourself memorable. > You don’t just want to come across as someone with > just good grades and ok jobs - nobody will > remember you. I always encourage people to say > something that has some real “wow” factor. > Especially in this economy, people that don’t have > that factor get their resumes placed in a > recycling bin. Completely disagree.

I agree with numi. Most workers prefer someone with a bit of spark to them rather then average and boring, as SMIRK seems to prefer.

I get very personal from my first crush to my specific fetishes.

it was all a dream, i used to read word up magazine…

Numi is right - talking about overcoming that type of adversity demonstrates a whole heap of things employers look for. I say go for it.