Zero background in Finance: which book?

I had a degree in Mechanical Engineering, and I’m currently looking to change career into Finance, maybe with the help of passing a CFA level 1 exam, I have only taken an intro microeconomics class in college, which series of books is best for someone in my situation? Thanks a lot!

Series 7 or CSC. Or Schweser book1-book5 and then book6.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Principles-Corporate-Finance-Pt-E/dp/0071284915/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=gateway&qid=1200990743&sr=8-1 Brealey and Myers - Principles of corporate finance. Explains all essentials on every important area of finance.

A Random Walk Down Wall St. Liar’s Poker When Genius Failed

im sure you are intelligent. but I got a degree in finance and then spent 400 hours studying for this test and still don’t feel i passed. this will take a lot of time for you without a finance backround.

From Mech Eng to Finance? Why do you want finance/CFA? Whats your motivation man??

maxhiggins Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > im sure you are intelligent. but I got a degree in > finance and then spent 400 hours studying for this > test and still don’t feel i passed. this will take > a lot of time for you without a finance backround. Im curious, did you study mostly from the CFAI or Schwser materials? how would you prepare for the exam differently next time (assuming you didnt pass)