Actuary Exams

If there are any actuaries on this board, I would greatly appreciate your input. My background is in investment banking, I have my CFA designation and I am sitting for part II of the upcoming FRM exam. I do not have a love affair with IB and I love math and risk management. As a result, I am contemplating becoming an actuary. I am planning on sitting for the probability exam, likely in March 2011. If anyone has any suggestions on how best to prepare for this exam, what the best study materials are (ideally all encompassing) and any other tidbits that I can use to pass this first test, I would be very appreciative.

There is an actuary forum… actuarypost.com or something like that But from what I heard most people start taking the actuary exames in undergrad and finish up in their late 20s. If you were to get an actuary job you will probably start at an entry level job. If you are in your late 20s or early 30s why not a master in statistics or MFE. Should be able to get a risk management job after that.

Thx. Unfortunately I’m 36, not a young buck anymore. Guess I’m getting into this game a bit late. I don’t want to go back to school. I would rather get a test or two under my belt and then get into the industry, and then continue to take the necessary tests until I reach the pinnacle (FCAS).

Dude, you’re like a million years old to begin the actuary game; unless you want to work for an insurance company. Look at an MFE or CQF --> quickest and most efficient way into risk management.

I think it’s actuarialoutpost.

it’s never too late. don’t let anyone tell you it is.