After the CFA Program

Is anyone is going to pursue another designation (CAIA, CMT, FRM…etc.) or do you feel the CFA is sufficient for your career/personal needs?

If you are going to pursue another designation, in what area do you work?

I’m done. AM for me.

I’ve been thinking about this, even asked similar question in general discussion forum. Short term I’ve got no desire to pursue additional designations… going to enjoy the free time and time with family then possibly lesiurely work on improving my financial modeling and try to lean a programming language (not a necessity but seems like good knowledge to have and stay relevant, probably just use MIT free online courseware). Long term, who knows, may be get bored and revist this.

Of course, this is a moot point if I’m studying for Level 3 again this time next year.

I hear you. First things first, lets pass this exam!

for sure. pass first.

i heard FRM is not so hard, you can potentially pass 2 levels in the same test day.

I am very used to the studying for the past 2 and half years, it would be a shock if suddenly there is nothing to study for. I may do FRM.

since i dont believe in the weak form hypthesis i am interested in the CMT designation. talked to a buddy of mine he says its a good course for people just gettng into trading!

If, no, let me rephrase, WHEN I PASS, I will party like it’s 1999

I was thinking about CAIA but that seems to hold little value in the finance world

I’ve heard FRM is more for banking risk, is that correct? I plan to pursue the PRM.

I’m done with designations, but I am starting business school in the fall. I think an MBA and CFA will cover me. FRM material looks somewhat interesting; CAIA not so much.

The CMT interests me for personal reasons (trading in my spare time), but will likely not do much for career growth. The CAIA is a little bit more applicable to my career, but I have yet to decide if I will pursue it.

CAIA is still a major unknown IMO