Guys, I just got my Study package. This is my first time giving the exam ( level 1 June). I am just curious … being 24-25 is too old to give an exam? I know allot of ppl who are CFA’s by 23. I am just feeling too old… Any input or advices please…

Dude, I’m turning 27 and I’m studying for level I. If I were you, I’d feel very ahead.

I agree, you should feel at very worst on pace. I dont really know about others, but I am 27 and just took CFA level 1 in December. I wish I had focused on this earlier (I also wish I had done the CPA last semester of College instead of waiting until 1-2 years into work…so I would have started CFA sooner). Anyway, it seems everyone has different reasons/career paths for taking it, but from what I can tell you are not that old at all (I feel old at 27 though). Would love to hear others thoughts…

I don’t know where you guys are located, but here in Vancouver, I’ve heard from current big shots that they didn’t get their CFA’s until after a good 10 years of work, so when they were about 32-33ish. :slight_smile:

Thanks guys. I was told age does not matter for education. But when you see ppl at a young age being a CFA holder by the age of 24-25, I feel little bit left behind. But I guess, what is most important the appropiate experience for the exam. Do you guys feel that the education from you CFA has helped you in you career?

It would be very difficult to become a charterholder by the age of 24-25 because of the minimum work experience requirement. I am 22 and would feel lucky to finish by 26.

Well as long you have the exams out of the way… . Experience could come later… have you passed the exam yet?

No, I sat for Level I this December.

I think age is not important, in Turkey, there are few CFA holders and their average age was over 30 when they held CFA. Now I am 23 and began to study for June 2008 for level 1.