any gay or lesbian CFA candidates?

Hi there,

I’d like to be in touch with fellow gay or lesbian CFA candidates. I’m relatively new in finance and don’t even know a single LGBT finance type, which I find depressing. This is not an easy industry for us and I’d like to be in touch with anyone else studying for the CFA (I’m studying for Level 2 now and located in LA). And for those of you not in this group, I’d appreciate you being kind and keeping any snarky remarks to yourself.

I’ve certainly worked with a few gay people in finance, they just don’t advertise their sexuality (understandably).

I’m not altogether clear why one’s sexuality should make a hill of beans worth of difference.

I, for one, couldn’t care less.

monkeymath: if you get a group together and you find you need some help on some topics, bear in mind that I’m in NE Orange County.

+1

But it does add a different dimension to the term “CFA Hook Up”.

Believe me, I thought long and hard about the (puerile) implications of moving the thread here. In the end, I was left hoping that the childishness would be left behind.

Both of you guys beat me to the punch. I’d rather that someone’s sexual orientation be a non-issue in the workplace unless it was ABSOLUTELY relevant to the job. An example of this might be a financial advisor advertising himself as a gay so that he could assist gay clients with their unique estate planning situations.

But come the f**k on, man - we’re on a CFA forum: we’re here because we believe that a standardized test levels the playing field. It doens’t matter what your age, race, gender, religion, or birthplace is. What should matter, and does matter is: CAN YOU PASS THE TEST OR NOT?

You are missing the point. It’s not about the test. That is clearly standardized.

It was an attempt by me to find other gays and lesbians going into the finance field.

Just the reactions to this shows what a problem this is. There are very few women in this industry and even fewer minorities.