Being laid off permanently when WFH

I’ve never expect that I would be laid off via a 15 minute skype chat while WFH. I felt shitty because I could not even see if my boos was really “sincerely sorry about the situation”. Details of the laid off was screen shared by the HR on a sunny Friday afternoon. The deliver man came to my place to pick up the computer and sent back my Italian made shoes still left in the firm before the WFH thing happened. Nothing could be as ironic as it seemed.

Instead of having myself in the angry mode for too long, I’ve decided to move on. I would like to know if you can share the channel to land a Finance related job.

I am a CPA in Canada, and I have worked in Public accounting firm for a couple of years.I have also passed all CFA exams, and am looking to jump into finance-related work to gain practical experience for my CFA designation. I am eligible to work in both Canada and USA. If you happen to know any companies or connections that are looking for people like me, please let me know.

Stay safe,
Tamiesurok

I am so sorry to hear that my friend. It must be difficult for you now. But please keep your head up, I’m sure our fellow AFers here will be cheering you up and giving you some helpful suggestions. :handshake:

1 Like

sorry to hear that my friend. best of luck. we’re all prolly just 1 call away.

2 Likes

Thanks bro! I really need some encouragement!

1 Like

Thanks bro! I wish everyone is doing well!

1 Like

Dang. I’m sorry dude. But, on the bright side, you no longer have to pre-clear trades and you can get super rich swing trading VIX options with me.

2 Likes

Sorry to hear man. What’s your experience?

I work in Private Banking with one of the big 6 in Canada… Private Wealth firms are really ratcheting up their specialized planning teams - particularly looking for, and poaching tax accountants. It’s a good gig. Prob more immediate cash than you’d make at an accounting firm, and definitely less hours.