Breaking into Investment Field

Hi all, First off, this is my first post and just wanted to add that i am loving what this forum offers to people in need of assistance and advice. In saying that, i just wanted some input (anything is appreciated!!). I am currently studying for lvl 2 after passing in lvl 1 in dec. I work for a defense contractor, mainly in the accounting field (seems more like bookkeeping to me). I basically maintain the cash balances for the company, am in charge of AP/AR, and do whatever work is handed down to me by management. I wanted to get into the field of finance/investments and was wondering if any of you guys had an advice/input/anything. Ive heard its a lot easier getting an MBA and getting recruited. I have no investment job experience and my only finance experience is CFA and a bachelors in finance. I really want to start with an investment analyst program, so i can ease my way into investments but those are so hard to come by and they only recruit a couple people a year. Also, i know almost no one in this field, so networking would be really tough for me. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help me break into the field i want to be in!!

Go to your local CFA society events. Get out there, meet people & sell yourself buddy. Be the ball.

Why investment management and not any other field in finance? Why not be a floor trader on the NYSE? What kind of investment management are you interested in? What makes investment management seem so interesting to you? Equities, bonds, hedge funds, mutual funds, commodity futures? Why finance? Would you choose a low level associate position over an offer to do management consulting for McKinsey and Company? Why should someone hire you and not some new MBA graduate? Are you special in some way and if so, how are you special? You should be able to answer these confidently before anyone gives you a chance. Good luck in your new endeavor.