CAIA Level 1

Has anybody received CAIA level 1 Results yet?

i think they release them next week or something. i haven’ bothered to check.

How do you think you did?

I’m getting my results oct. 9th. You got your results already? I think I passed.

How did you prepare for the exam? Did you read all of the assigned readings? I did not get my results yet.

I only read the Anson Alt. Investment textbook (~45%) of the exam once and used the Hedge fund quant textbook as a reference when I studied the kaplan notes. I also did 2.5 practice exams. (along with reading the notes 1.5 times) Overall, I understudied badly, and made a few idiotic mistakes but not enough to fail (I think).

I have enough degrees and letters these days that I don’t feel the need to collect any more, but two questions anyway: 1) Compared to CFA stuff, was the exam hard in terms of the level of effort required for a decent chance of passing? 2) Is the material intrinsically interesting and different from the CFA stuff?

1. No - a single reading of the material is probably sufficient to pass assuming some financial/CFA background 2) Yes there is little overlap. I am a CFA and FRM holder. I found the CAIA material to be pretty complentary. I hear you on collecting more degrees. My approach is that I am after additional knowledge not necessariyl the designation. If I get the CAIA designation, I will not use it on the business card. Again, my primary motivator is the additional knowledge and moitvation to keep the mind proactive/hungry/aggressive not just getting another degree/designation.

mbhasin, how is the difficulty level of the CAIA level 1 comparable to the FRM? The CAIA level 2 is an essay test:(…

i think the most important question here is: did anyone not gain any knowledge from teh CAIA exams or studies?

I don’t think that’s possible. I remember talking to a married guy with 7 years Hedge fund-of-funds analyst experience that told me he failed…