Can the CFA be a bridge?

I posted this on the LIII board, but also want the opinion of the folks on the LII board: I work in corporate finance at a Fortune 100 company, and I want to move into investment managment. I have a BBA in Finance, and I going to pursue the CFA. Do you think that earning the charter, or passing a couple levels, can open the door to the prospects I seek?

No, I do not, I have the same background as you, best to go for a masters, maybe work on CFA along the way, see where that gets you

And you speak from experience? Have you passed any of the exams and applied for a job?

Just found this piece: http://career-advice.monster.com/job-promotion/finance/Is-the-CFA-Right-for-You/home.aspx?WT.mc_n=MNL000299 "Passing the CFA exam can be a bridge if you’re in finance or accounting and want to jump into investment-related work. "

Although, I am no expert. Just a guy who is seeking to get into an Asset Management/Investment banking field. Anything is possible but if you are career changer then apparently strong bridge to an asset management or any field is a top notch MBA. CFA is more of a career booster than bridge. Maybe you are in a corporate finance and majored in finance so… might have better chance. That’s just my 2 cents.

what skycfa said, and spartan, believe me when i say I am speaking from experience, worked in finance for Johnson and Johnson, business admin undergrad, passed LI, took LII three weeks ago, it’s a sh!t market, and monster’s full of it as well, go for the top tier MBA

I just realized you are a recent grad so I want to caution you against going into an MBA too early, knew a couple of kids that tried that and it backfired on them.