cpa

checked craigslist for job searchings under CFA keyword for Austin and got NOTHING. then i do same search for cpa and there are like 50!!! weeeeaaakkk!

I also have the feeling I chose the wrong major.

In my opinion as a CPA and a level III candidate the CFA is a harder exam

Check out the teacher’s pension plan in Austin if you want a CFA related job. There will always be more bean counters than people trading beans.

former trader Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I also have the feeling I chose the wrong major. you should do an internship as an auditor then ask yourself that question

I worked as an auditor at Big 4 and have never been more happy that I did my undergrad in acct (that isnt to say I loved that job). Guess it depends what type of work you want to do…

an accounting degree (or getting your CPA) is like investing in treasuries - dull most of the time, consistent but small return, and everyone want to be there when everything hits the fan a finance degree is like a small cap growth stock - a good number flame out, a small minority succeed wildly, and people view them/it as very unstable when everything hits the fan I was an auditor for 2 years and although I learned a lot, if I was a better student I would accepted almost any offer for a good finance job right out of school over auditing (at the end of my sophomore year I realized I screwed up so I hedged my bets and a double major in fin and accting).