Depressing fail

Check this one out: Level II: Fail Band 10 Item Set Q# Topic Max Pts <=50% 51%-70% >70% - Alternative Investments 18 -*- - Corporate Finance 36 *-- - Derivatives 36 --* - Economics 18 -*- - Equity Investments 72 --* - Ethical & Professional Standards 36 *-- - Financial Reporting & Analysis 72 -*- - Fixed Income Investments 36 --* - Portfolio Management 18 --* - Quantitative Methods 18 --*

Level II: Fail Band 9 Item Set Q# Topic Max Pts <=50% 51%-70% >70% - Alternative Investments 18 * - - - Corporate Finance 36 - * - - Derivatives 36 - * - - Economics 18 - - * - Equity Investments 72 - - * - Ethical & Professional Standards 36 * - - - Financial Reporting & Analysis 72 - * - - Fixed Income Investments 36 - - * - Portfolio Management 18 - - * - Quantitative Methods 18 - * - This is my first try, I really gave all what I can, I don’t know if I will be able to give it another try.

I think CFAI should be more transparent and should show each person their entire score…Are they hiding something? That way, people can see what they did and work to improve themselves.

I think you can’t be too surprised if you fail ethics. It’s heavily weighted and CFAI has clearly made a point of ensuring the “minimum qualified candidate” has a good grounding in ethics. It wouldn’t surprise me if the MPS is really more of a range, with performance on ethics determining whether a marginal candidate passes or not. This is a section no one can afford to fail