Did not get the accounting promotion because I studied too hard on CFA

I work in public accounting firm, and the firm demanded a lot from me during the busy season. I did all the required hours but I did not do a lot of overtimes. I spent those hours into studying CFA level III. I started preparing CFA level III since January, and the course load as well as the overtime killed me. I have requested a week off using my own vacation time before the CFA exam, but the firm did not allow me to take the vacation because it was still technically busy season for the firm. I did reinforce my time-off request and I eventually got it.

Luckily I passed the Level III with the first attempt, but I did not get the job promotion because HR believed I spent too much time preparing for the exam. But the fact was I did all the required hours with dedication, but I just opt not to take overtime to cater the toxic work environment. I did understand the firm’s position on this situation, however, the HR in accounting firm did not value the CFA designation, nor my personal eager to achieve a better person.

Recently, I’ve been asking myself: if given me the same situation, will I choose to spend that much time to take the CFA? The answer is a definite “Yes”. I will be a CPA and CFA within short period of time, and I do intend to look for career more incline toward financial institution instead of in Public Accounting firm.

I just need an outlet to express my current frustration, and find those folks who value CFA designation.

Cheers,

Both you and your firm did the right thing.

You knew you don’t wanna stay in public accounting, hence you chose to study for CFA and not let work getting into your way.

Your firm knows that too, so why would they waste a promotion on someone that’s not going to stay long?

No hard feelings it’s all business, and over with it and move on.

Thanks for the analysis, the true hard fact took me about a day to swallow and accept. Time to move on!