Disputing egregious charges

I got slapped with a $1000 invoice from my building’s architect for looking over some minor renovation plans a few months ago. I was not informed of this charge at any point in time other than one line in the building’s alteration agreement that said “building may employ an architect to review renovation plans at tenant’s expense.” Is there any legal statute under which I can dispute this charge as either excessive or illegal since I didn’t agree to it before it was assessed and was never informed of what their rate was?

I dont think so as its in your agreement that you signed. Sorry.

So you’re saying they could’ve charged me a million dollars if they wanted to and there’s nothing I could do about it?

Hey, can I come and take a look at your building too?

At a Mil you have a lawsuit, at 1K you dont. That clause most likely would hold up to immaterial/reasonable fees, but that is up to a judge to decide what reasonable is. I’m not a lawyer I just play one on the Internet.

So if they were to charge me $1 million and I wanted to dispute it, what statute would that fall under and where would I go, small claims court?

phew… dontcha hate those NYC Co-ops! how much is the co-op management company going to get back from the architect?