Don’t stress...it’s possible to pass with significantly less than 300 hours

Hi all - this is my first post. While I was stressing for Level III I told myself if I passed I would write this post for others who are pulling their hair out. To preface it, I am not posting to brag but rather to share my story and let you know it is POSSIBLE to pass with a lot less than 300 hours.

For background, I graduated in 2017 with an undergrad degree in business from a very non-target state school (let’s just say high school/early college was more about fun than anything else). In my sophomore year I joined the student managed investment fund and quickly realized I wanted to get a job in the markets. I spent the next two years doing anything that got me closer to that goal (i.e. tons of things outside of class). Summer before senior year I was lucky enough to get an internship at a boutique AM firm in credit research. I converted to a FT offer and lucky for all of us the firm has more than doubled in size and I have been given increased responsibility over the last couple years. So to sum it all up, I have spent the last four years of my life learning anything and everything I could about finance/the markets.

Now to the exams…

I passed Level I my senior year of college (December 2016) with what I’ll estimate to be ~25 hours of studying (almost all of it the week before). I found this test to be very similar to business undergraduate with additional/more in depth subject matter.

I passed the June 2018 Level II exam with an estimated 75 hours of studying (almost all of it the week before). I thought this exam was much more difficult that Level I with a fair amount of new subject matter and A LOT of formulas. To me, this one was about doing a ton of practice questions and using the formulas over and over again to make sure you have them down.