Equity Research Interview

Hi guys,

I have an interview coming up for a short internship at a large equity broker in London. I had previously been for an informal chat with the head of HR and a few days later she emailed me with this opportunity. It is just for a couple of weeks but as a recent grad with low experience I am very keen to do everything I can to get this opportunity.

In my interview with her I expressed an interest in ER but she mentioned they don’t recruit grads into ER specifically unless they come from an accounting background or have worked within the firms other teams. My background is econ grad with an insight internship on the trading floor of a european IB and some temp work within the back office of fidelity. She knows this however in the email she has written the following:

“The successful candidate will be assisting our Utilities team on a detailed study of the last bust cycle of a utilities company, looking at things such as Capex, closures, return focus, business strategy etc. For this they will need to be able to read and interpret company accounts.”

The interview will be with a member of the Utilities team and whilst she has said it will be an informal chat I’m very keen to come across as someone who can come in and just get on, without the need for too much training. I have recently registered for the CFA, Dec 12, so I have study guides etc. I have 3 days in which I plan on reading as much about company accounts as I possibly can. I was hoping for some feedback/advice on which sections will be most important for interpreting company accounts.

My plan is to read up on Utilities but I would like some advice on which of the following sections from my Elan guide would be most useful:

• Financial statement and Analysis: An Introduction
  • Financial Reporting Mechanics
  • Financial Reporting Standards
  • Understanding the Income Statement
  • Understanding the Balance Sheet

Any input from you guys would be greatly appreciated