ER analysts - do you feel this?

I’m a buyside ER analyst / junior PM. I like the job, but I find it incredibly difficult to get any closure when it is time to go home (often-times bad for my social life and occasionally bad for the quality / efficiency of my work). There are no boundaries. I never actually finish anything, since there is always more to understand about the world or more companies to look at. Even when I go home early, it’s increasingly with an annual report or I’ll at least plough through The Economist, usually in such a systematic and thorough manner that it becomes “work”. Is this the curse of the buyside analyst or is this just me? Even though my office hours are great, there is this on-going “work creep”. I also wonder if it’s related to my first job having been in IB, where I found the only way to trump my rivals was to be on call all the time…

You know, I think your question is one that, if it were more generalized, could apply to anyone in any profession. People are more likely to bring their work home if they like what they do, and/or they have no other choice to do so. My experience in equity research was that I’d often bring stuff home in order to work on them, when there was a crucial deadline that I couldn’t or didn’t want to miss, or when I just found it enriching on a personal level. However, during times where I didn’t care as much about my job or didn’t really feel a sense of “ownership,” I didn’t bring work home with me and didn’t care to. And of course, when I was ready to quit, I stopped thinking about working from home altogether, and it became incredibly easy to get closure (my friends and family also noticed a notable change in my overall happiness and quality of life).