Going from Big 4 to Research?

Recently I’ve started thinking about heading into the Big 4 after getting my CPA and working on the CFA while at the Big 4. I know the experience wouldn’t qualify for the work requirement, but would this move make any sense? Also, does starting in auditing vs. tax vs. other departments make a difference for heading back to investments? Any advice?

Not sure about the states, but here in Canada, im planning on heading into the Big4 after Ugrad to get my CA (while studying CFA). While im there ill be required to do some time in Auditing (aprox 1 year), then move to the Advisory department, or maybe even the Wealth Management department of certain accounting firms. I’ve discussed this approach with a few people, and they say its a great path…but i can only speak for Canada.

Just got out from mid tier accounting firm…2 of the big 4s are asking me for interview. Taking CFA level 1 this dec. In addition, I have an engineering degree on top of my masters in accounting. So my path will be to stay on in Big 4 audit for another 3 years to chalk up more time for my CPA and if possible move to corporate finance/advisory using my CFA thereafter. I guess if your intention is to get your CPA, it will be a good idea to work in the Big 4 while obtaining your CFA. Cos thats what I intend to do.

The only hurdle I have left is to pass the CPA exam - now that you can take it in parts, I don’t see it being an issue at all. My question is, if I like finance but am having a hard time getting in currently, will the Big 4 experience allow me to get into the investment firms?