graduated in spring, still unemployed. is this really bad?

hello, i graduated in june this summer and so far have been unlucky in landing a job. partly i blame this on myself (i started my job search kind of late, after summer that is, just before the crises), and also on the current market situation. is it really, terribly frowned upon, if a recent grad takes longer than usual break before starting his or her full time job? by mid september i was getting restless and without thinking signed up for CFA level 1, so at least i had *something* to do, but at this rate, i don’t even know if i will pass. worst case scenario, i do not pass this exam, so i really have nothing to tell prospective employers what i’ve been doing all this time - am i in deep trouble? will my degree end up being useless if i don’t find a job any time soon? i have little to no professional work experience. appreciate any comments, - anxious

Do you live with Mom? When potential employers phone, does Mom answer the phone? Who makes your bed?

I would assume financial companies will understand your inability(although some seems your fault vs. the market) to get a job. I think its funny that you dropped money to start the CFA though, I can hear your mom now “pick up these dang books!”

any constructive comments appreciated.

constructive: 1)Keep looking for jobs. In this market you are nice and cheap labor. 2)Study for the CFA exam, if you pass it you will feel like a champ and move a step up 3)No excuses play like a champion

What city are you in? Maybe after the exam you could crash at a friend’s place who lives in a city with more job possibilities.

tvPM Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > constructive: > 1)Keep looking for jobs. In this market you are > nice and cheap labor. > 2)Study for the CFA exam, if you pass it you will > feel like a champ and move a step up > 3)No excuses play like a champion thanks… (i was mainly referring to what the other poster said)