Hardest Level II Study Sessions

I know people hate this question and always say that it all depends on your background, but is there any consensus on the hardest study sessions or even particular readings? I saw this question on the Level I board before I started studying for that exam and that helped me mentally prepare for those topics when they came up. From what I gathered from doing a search in the Level II forums, I’ve seen Equity, Portfolio Management, and Quant as the big ones that people have trouble with? Any others that people always complain about, such as SS9 in Level I?

Quant sucks

reading 18 kind of sucks. I understand it now, but it took some time to wrap my head around it.

reading 13 sux

Quant… and the exchange rate stuff…

Quant was just painful.

Foreign Currency Translations. Too many things to remember.

Forex was (and still is) the hardest for me. My problem is remembering everything on the same day. I could probably teach a class on anything right after reading it, but a few months later I forget it.

PM is tough on the possible ways they can test it. Tons and tons of material and over the last 2 years the CFA institute has picked random, detailed, PM stuff to test. I thought I had a strong handle on it and blew it on the exam.

How would you rate Fixed Income and/or Derivatives? Theres not too much buzz and I reckon that lack of buzz means they are either less important or relatively easier! Any suggestions please?

For me the hardest parts in Level II are derivative valuations. Also Portfolio Management is much harder than you would think based on your Level I experience! So don’t ignore those areas. That being said, I think the main part where Quant is difficult is time series-- if you go over the materials a few times and try to get the concepts behind it, you should be fine. But then again, that idea applies to all the materials! Best wishes!