Harvard VS University Des Moines ?

I’d like to know, as a manager will you automatically hire a Harvard or Ivy League Graduate over a less well known, less prestigious institution. I mentionned Des Moines just as an example. Even though I’m not in a managerial position, my answer would be a resounding NO. The reason is I would not assume the Harvard guy is more competent. After all 1 + 1 = 2 no mattter which university you study. If you study let’s say the CAPM in an investment class, it’s the same thing whether you are at Harvard or a relatively unknown university. From that reasoning, why would the Harvard guy be the favorite ? For sure, the Harvard guy is probably coming from old money thus he may have access to useful business contacts that might benifit his future employer. But besides that if I was a manager, I’d look for a guy would would fit in well within the team and could bring some add value to the organization. I’d basically hire competences not prestige. In conclusion, I think both candidates should have an equal chance. I don’t think the prestige of the university the candiadate attended should bias the hiring process. I’d like to have your opinion on that. I feel I’ll take a lot of heat!!!

Does the position have anything to do with cows?

there was a whole debate on this topic recently. I believe it was called Harvard vs. CFA or something like that. Use the search function

definitely harvard

There is a DMU: However, it’s solely for Osteopaths. Interestingly Terry E Braindead (Branstad) is the president.