Hedge fund manager

What does it take to become a hedge fund manager? For example, do you have to have a diploma from Harvard MBA? What can a marginalized like me do to become one? Is CFA chardholder a good start?

You can start a hedge fund from your home like Tim Sykes. :)))

ymc Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > You can start a hedge fund from your home like Tim > Sykes. :))) Ha, should’ve known Tim would come into this. Oasys, there are no prerequisites and no exact career path. Some are self-taught traders, but not many (ie- Tim Sykes). The majority of them are traders or even analysts to the best of my knowledge. I don’t know about the future of the hedge fund industry- we might se a lot of firms closing shop- stricter regulations and recent not so stellar returns.

But what do you guys think is a hedge fund? Is it a fund for wealthy individuals as defined by Wall Street Warriors? Or a fund that hedges its risk using derivatives? Or some other definition?

From what I read, you need to be elite…top undergrad, top of your BB analyst program, top MBA as a prereq…It depends on the fund but if its a SAC/RenTech then you need to be a baller from the get go

I’m new to the finance world. But it seems that to become a hedge fund manager is one of the big dream a finance pros can achieve. Is that true? What other positions are considered ultimate goals for everyday finance newbies?