Help

Ok I need some career advice. I’ll try and explain the best I can but there is a danger I’m going to sound like an ungrateful arse so please forgive me if I do. Two years ago I got promoted from the receptionist of the hedge fund where I work to an analyst position. I realize from previous discussions on here that this was kind of an unusual beginning but I was just lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time and showed enough enthusiasm for them to give me a chance. My boss is an extremely bright guy but the trouble is he kind of assumes that everyone else operates on the same intellectual plane. Pretty much straight away he told me to go off and look for investments, keep him informed about what I’m doing and let him know whenever I came across something I thought was interesting. Bearing in mind I have a degree in classics and had spent most of the previous six months making tea and answering the phone this came as somewhat as a shock. However this sink or swim approach has been mostly great as I have learnt so much and feel confident in areas that I probably would never have got to experience otherwise. Also through hard work and the CFA I am now comfortable in many areas of analysis. However I have never had any kind of training and I now know enough to realize that there are some serious gaps in my knowledge base. It feels a bit like I skipped CFA1 and went straight to level 3. Because of this I frankly do not feel confident that I would survive for very long in the same position in a more structured environment. My boss has indicated that he will be leaving at some point early next year and has basically said that he thinks I should stay where I am for the bonuses, which have been quite significant so far, and do the CFA. However this just feels like the totally wrong thing to do. I’m not learning anything new, despite having worked hard I don’t really feel like I deserve to be where I am because there are many people out there who I’m sure