I know a lot of you folks are getting...

I know a lot of you folks are getting (or already have) your CPA and trying to obtain the CFA as well. Looking at the list below (forget about your personal career path & just in general terms), which combination of professional certifications do you think is worth given a try? CFA & CTP (Certified Treasury Professional) >>> Cash Management Career Path CFA & FRM (Financial Risk Management) >>> Risk Management Career Path CFA & CAIA (Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst) >>> Alternative Investment Path

PE, Hedge Funds, Commodiites are part of Alternative Investments. Risk Management is an horizontal function which is part of almost every financial institution.

anyone knwow how long one needs to study for the CPA? Its offered in 4 parts right? Does it take about 1 month for each section and is it possible to take it one or two parts at a time over the course of a year?

i am a cpa. it takes about 3 months of full time study. Most my friends did it within 3 months. The months after college graduate. part time. I would say 6-9 month max.

sameeragarwal Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > PE, Hedge Funds, Commodiites are part of > Alternative Investments. > Risk Management is an horizontal function which is > part of almost every financial institution. If Risk Management is an horizontal function which is part of almost every financial institution, are you suggesting that it’ll add more value to your CFA as opposed to the other certifications? What about the CTP, which I think has to do with cash management. A Treasury/CFO path really.

Thanks…do you recommend taking all parts in 1 shot, or just doing 2 at a time to ensure?

I am taking level 2 of the CAIA…decent program…young certification…who knows if it ever becomes prestigious or not. The same could have been said about the CFA some years ago.