Investment rep or Fund Accountant ??

Hi Guys, I am 1 month into the job search and looking for entry level position in the industry. I am getting offers for either an IR position or Fund accountant position…considering that i have no previous finance experience and I am in Toronto !! …which one of these two positions have more growth potentials ??.. also, can any of these two positions have slightest possibility to lead me in equity research in future??

I would say FA hands down. Willy

i say IR. if you make the most out of your time as an IR, you can get more out of it then FA. withFA, you’re exposed to mutual funds and accounting. with IR, exposed to talking a lot of crap to clients but you get to see the range of investments out there. both are essentially easy, but IR i think allows you to participate a bit more. hands down IR for me.

Thanks for yr comment guys…I am also bit more inclined toward the IR position …specially caz I’ll be working with one of the big 5 in canada, and I hv been told that there are lot of internal opportunities…however Fund Accountant sounds like a more respectable job…also, any comments on the later part of my question??

FA all the way IR you actually learn nothing lots of people moving from IR to FA

but are there any chances of moving from IR to IA to PM??