Is it appropriate to ask for compensation at unpaid internship?

Guys, I am working as an unpaid summer intern in a boutique investment bank in New York City. I am assisting senior professional 50-80 hrs/week on company valuation of M&A transactions. Currently, I am doing an MBA and waiting for CFA level 2 results. I am an international student and not familiar with US work culture. I am planning to ask for some compensation at work. Is it appropriate to ask for compensation at unpaid internship? Any suggestion is appreciated. Thanks.

Yes. But then it is not appropriate to expect a full time offer upon graduation.

What do you mean?

Think about it…is it appropriate to ask for compensation at an unpaid internship? If you can’t figure that out I don’t know how you help in valuations… My condescending and facetious comments, of course, don’t apply if you didn’t know it was unpaid, but then that is still pretty hard to believe.

They’re paying you in M&A experience, just shut up and do your internship. I swear the sense of entitlement within this industry is ridiculous.

I have sent an email to CEO in May that I am looking for internship. We didn’t discuss anything about the salary during the interview. I didn’t ask, because I was in need of a good internship. I am not sure, what should I do now?

Ask the CEO for the key to his bathroom. That would show some true initiative.

Nothing except continue to do your work and accrue experience. Unless you’re blind, I-Banking experience is going to be tough to come by. There’s 1,000 guys who are a lot smarter than you who will do that internship for free. Just shut up and don’t ask for anything except for a good reference.

Thanks guys. I think I should work here unpaid till I graduate in December. Thanks again.

lol…i’m waiting for someone to somehow throw in a request for i-banking manuals and give their email to make this the best thread of all time.