June 2011

Dear All, CFA has just opened June 2011. I have just registered and i am hoping the materials will come within the next two weeks. Regards, Namh

Best of luck Niamh. Are you Irish?

Good luck niamh23. If you are new to finance, then you should take your time studying the materials. I think you’re doing a good thing by preparing early as long as you’re doing a job.

Hey Soddy, yes i am Irish. Economics and Finance was my Major at college and i have been working for a hedge fund administrator for the last two years. Work can be pretty crazy so i think its best to start as early as possible. Any study pointers would be much appreciated. Regards, Niamh

It is a small box. Your first reaction will be positive. Then you open the box and see a handful of books. Still ok. You think: how much work can this be? And then you’ll see how many pages fit into that tiny box. And you don’t understand but they are there. :slight_smile:

niamh23 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Hey Soddy, yes i am Irish. Economics and Finance > was my Major at college and i have been working > for a hedge fund administrator for the last two > years. > > Work can be pretty crazy so i think its best to > start as early as possible. > > Any study pointers would be much appreciated. > > Regards, > > Niamh Hi Niamh, I’m based in the IFSC. Starting early is good, although I advise against hitting the books hard for the first few months. You’ll just get fed up with it. I treated it the same as a college year. A little before Christmas, a lot after Christmas. Hit quant first because it feeds into everything else. I left Ethics completely until February and I read it three times in total before the exam. Apart from that, level 1 is all about drilling questions. SS9 is pretty rough also for level 1. Good luck. And woops is right. It’s unbelievable what CFAI manage to fit into that box.

@soddy1979: How did you figure out he/she is Irish?