knowledge of maths and finance for attempting CFA

Dear all,

I just want to know that how important it is to have some mathmatics background for completing CFA, I am not goods at maths and also does not have finance educational background.

However I have been working for around ten years in banking industry.

I am thinking to take some maths and finance courses before starting CFA,

you valuable suggestion are required.

Thanks

Cancerian.

To answer your question–high school algebra is more than enough to complete the exam.

Finance courses are nice to have, but not necessary. CFA will teach you from the ground up on finance and accounting. However, you need to know basic economics. CFAI assumes that you already understand basic micro- and macro-economics.

Piece of advice–work on your English. This might be a serious problem going forward, especially at Level 3.

It’s grade 10 algebra.

Guyz thanks for ur suggestions

Yes I believes that Greenmans is true in his reply. But that for I disagree to one point. It require some statistical knowledge to clear the quant maths sections on the exams. If you give the exam without some understanding of these maths, you will likely come problem on exam.

Please advice if you need any more tips before writing the exam so you can be help to clear the same.

Thanks, Borat!

lol!

Accounting knowledge can be very benefical for real world work, too: digesting financial statements, forecasting balance sheets, etc. Corporate income and cash flows can be major components as well.

I’d say go ahead, don’t bother with pre-courses. I didn’t have any finance, quant, economics, accounting knowledge when I started level 1. Schweser does an excellent job explaining difficult concepts in easy language. Then you have so many online resources to fall back on. It is doable!

Thanks DOW for your support.