Level 1 who just sat in Dec 09 exam

Hi, my first post here :). I am in final year of under degree in Math/Stats (economics minor). (Not sure if it would help me in this exam). I signed up for June/10 exam last month and was wondering if you guys could provide me with some input. I would really appreciate it. :slight_smile: like Schweser or Stall or just CFAI ? There are so many resources and I just don’t know where to start or what is reliable :S. I glanced over material and my main worry is Accounting part, since I don’t have prior background. Should I just stick to CFAI material ? Thanks a lot in advance :slight_smile:

CFAI if you are free 24/7 otherwise go with Scheweser. Much more to the point and does a great job preparing you for L1 Schweser books + Qbank + mock exams = a guaranteed pass in L1

I agree with ZeroBonus. With your stats background, book 1 will be a piece of cake for you. Lucky for you it is worth 27% of the exam, but that includes a section on Ethics, and dont think for a second that ethics is about being ‘nice’. You might need to rely on the CFAI texts if you dont have a background in accounting/finance…you will definitely be needing that to familiarize yourself with the basics. Maybe some extra courses at college will help, and then you can register for L1

thanks guys!! Yes, I took finance class as my elective in my second year and somewhat familiar with npv, annuities etc. I am just concerned about the accounting part, since I haven’t done anything related to it. Maybe I’ll just do FSA part from CFAI and rest from Schweser’s material.