Looking for a career change

Hi Everyone,

New to the forum here but I was looking to see if I could get advice related to the CFA. I just recently graduated with my BS in Economics/Finance (took online classes, not sure how much this matters) from an unknown university. For the better part of 6 years I have been working at a small credit union first as a teller, personal banker, and now credit analyst. Over the last couple of months I have realized that working at a credit union is not for me and that instead I’m more interested in the fast-pace environment of “high” finance. Unfortunately for me, I have no relevant experience in that space (no internships) and I know how competitive it is to find work in those industries. It also doesn’t help that I turn 29 in April. So I need some help. For someone in my position, what would be the most ideal steps that I could take that will help me reach my end goal of breaking into high finance (IB/HF/PE/AM/ER/CF/S&T/etc)? For someone in my position, would the CFA plus networking be enough to get me an opportunity for interviews or will a more realistic option be to pursue an MBA from a top university?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

You’re a credit analyst, stick with that as there is literally no chance of you making front office with your lack of experience. Ping your cv to a bunch of banks and work your way up. Unfortunately there is no magic wand that gives u the ticket to high finance…

CFA may or may not help. An MBA from a top 5 will probably help, but I doubt you’d get into that given you’ve only just graduated from your degree…

Hi pokhim,