Making lots of money. Your Advice?!?

I’m a pre-mba consultant at a brand-name global firm and I’m looking to transition to finance. I graduated from a top-25 university, and I’m also studying for my CFA (L1). Where would you go from here if you wanted to make lots of money in 10 years? I’m all ears to your advice! What path would you take if you had an opportunity to start of on the right path? Sky’s the limit, so if hedge funds are on the table for me, then give me a plan!! I want a plan that I can stick to, and I also want to make sure its realistic.

And just to clarity, I’m interested in hedge funds, buying and selling businesses in a MM PE or VC context, and other related paths.

If you want to make money, “real” money, become a successful entreprenuer. Whose money do you think you’d be managing at your hedge fund? Personally, I’m starting to think I want to be the hedge fund managers client in 10 years, not their whipping boy analyst…

I just don’t think entrepreneurs make that much money. They need to give up big chunks of equity to investors and VC/PE firms in order to bring in the management talent and build infrastructure. Look at the CEO of friendster, for example. When that website was all the rave, the founder/CEO only had a 5% stake. Sure, there are exceptions (Bill Gates, Google guys), but these were highly disruptive companies that VC firms were competing for (thus the entrepreneurs had more negotiating power). In most cases, it just doesn’t seem to pay, and the risks of going broke are so high. Are you guys in agreement, or do you see building your own businesses as something appealing instead of finance?