Moving US to Europe?

Anybody have any experience or input on moving from buy side roles (or any roles) in the US to Europe? I’ve been kicking this idea around in the back of my mind and with the wife and it seems like a difficult move to make in terms of finding a job. Any pointers, logistics?

Beats me, but when i was searching for jobs abroad I got one in Denmark.

They have a skilled shortage labor list or some shit, might be worth checking out. No one wants to live with Danes though.

Dont live in denmark… they banned halal and kosher…

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/andrewbrown/2014/feb/20/denmark-halal-kosha-slaughter-hypocrisy-animal-welfare

I have no experience of moving in that direction but I personally would find it hard to settle anywhere in mainland Europe long term, I could do it for a few years but that’s about it.

Paris you’d need to speak french, you could maybe get by working for a big bank and speaking in English but outside of work it would be a hard place to be without speaking the language to a high level.

Frankfurt will probably become the new financial centre. I’ve only ever flown in and out in 1 day for meetings but very few people consider it a nice place to live. Germans are also quite hard to work with as they favour blind adherence to rules in favour of independent thought or any degree of pragmatism. I don’t think coming from America to Germany would be very easy but I’m just guessing.

Geneva might work although it’s pricey and the Swiss can be very annoying.

Luxembourg is all back office stuff.

London would be obvious choice but probably not the best place to be moving to at this particular time and if you didn’t like NYC it’s probably not for you.