MSSB Broker debating switch into research

Hey guys. I am new to the forum. Pleasure to meet you all. I have been a broker at Morgan for about a year and I am debating making to switch into equity research and eventually PM. It truly is my passion. Would it make sense for me to take CFA level 1 in December, assuming June is a little to late for me, so that I can transition into research easier or would it be smarter to get a position first? Keep in mind, I am in Philadelphia. The job opportunities are a little more rare to a NYC and I don’t want to relocate.

Wait, how come so many people believe that equity research is their true passion even though they’ve never been equity researchers? Ok, but never mind that. You should just be aggressive as possible; for everything that you postpone, there is a guy who didn’t postpone that same thing and would hence be better than you. Also, I would consider moving to NY. Your opportunities in the near term and a few years from now will be vastly superior compared to Philadelphia. Good luck.

I appreciate your insight ohai, but moving is out of the question because of family and friends. Furthermore, just because someone has not been employed and not been paid as an equity researcher, doesn’t mean they don’t have a passion for it. Wouldn’t you agree? It’s funny how quick people are to judge and form opinions when on forums when they are behind the comfort zone of their own computer. Please hold of the comments that don’t add any meaning to my situation, as well as others. I/We would appreciate that. Regardless, I agree with you statement about being as aggressive as possible and that there is always someone looking to outdo you. Anyone have any insight?