My take on Level II

Hello everyone, I passed my level II this year and I thought that I would share my experience with those first time takers. I did my bachelors in Finance so my preparation for the exam might not work for everyone. I thought this would be useful as this is a no BS post. I don’t think those “I passed with 10 days of studying” posts actually help anyone except to boost self egos. First, here are my results: Item Set Q# Topic Max Pts <=50% 51%-70% >70% - Alternative Investments 18 - - * - Corporate Finance 36 - * - - Derivatives 36 - * - - Economics 18 * - - - Equity Investments 72 - - * - Ethical & Professional Standards 36 - - * - Financial Statement Analysis 72 - - * - Fixed Income Investments 36 - * - - Portfolio Management 18 * - - - Quantitative Methods 18 - - * I started at the beginning of April and I work about 70 to 80 hours a week. I studied on the weekends and took two weeks off (not consecutively). I used the Schweser notes exclusively. Obviously, I was not fully prepared as you can see that I failed two sections. Here are the suggestions I would make to current candidates and things I would have done differently. 1) Start in March instead of April, I felt rushed at the end 2) Make notes on every section, I didn’t make notes until the last week and regretted it. You need notes and you need to review them every chance you get. I was actually struggling to remember forumlas on the exam. 3) Use the CFAI books for Ethics and PM. Even though I got +70% on Ethics, I have no idea how I did that. I had to use educated guesses more than what I have liked on that section. For PM, I had no idea what some of the questions were asking for. Some of the questions were not even covered in Schweser. One salient question that comes to mind was the requirement to give reason for dropping research coverage on a company among some other ones. 4) Don’t use the Q-Bank, I really didn’t like those questions. Just get as many sample Schweser exams as you can. I