Neighbors

I was talking to a neighbor this weekend. He asked me what I do for a living. I told him. He then asked me, do you think you could help my son get his foot in the door? I said absolutely, even though its tough right now, I can at least put in a good word for him. Is he looking for an internship? What is his major? Well, he dropped out of college after three years and is working at ShopRite now. He majored in finance though. Sorry neighbor, just remembered, we aren’t hiring.

My client asked me via email if I could recommend her daughter to my company as well. She further detailed that she has an AA through her local community college and is a hard worker. I did not respond to that email.

RadBikerSouthCO Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I was talking to a neighbor this weekend. > > He asked me what I do for a living. I told him. > > He then asked me, do you think you could help my > son get his foot in the door? > > I said absolutely, even though its tough right > now, I can at least put in a good word for him. > Is he looking for an internship? What is his > major? > > Well, he dropped out of college after three years > and is working at ShopRite now. He majored in > finance though. > > Sorry neighbor, just remembered, we aren’t hiring. Sounds like the retail sector is where he’s bound.

I understand what you’re saying and that yes, these people could have worked harder. But at the same time, have some sympathy for their plight and realise that it’s probably even tougher for those poor parents that want the best for their kids but have to sit and watch them struggle or head towards a dismal future. Particularly if those parents have foregone luxuries and vacations to put their kid through college, etc. I feel for them. *Edit: Just to be clear, I’m not saying you should give them a recommendation. Just sympathy.