Save Yourselves

The finance job market is an absolute turd. It is pathetic. I’ve been searching, searching, and searching. And searching, and searching. I have an undergraduate business degree from a top 40 North American university. I graduated in the top 15%. I passed my CFA Level III exam last year. Think that’s not enough? How about these returns to my personal portfolio over the last four years: 152%, 71%, 8%, and 39%. No one cares. No one. I could probably find more kids obsessed with playing Call of Duty to care than the employers who have read my resume. “You’re not the right fit for our organization but we are convinced you’ll have great success elsewhere” they tell me.

“Oh he must have some sort of handicap” you’re telling yourselves. No. I’m a white athletic male in his late 20s. I even worked for one of the big four accounting firms under a consulting role.

I don’t regret doing my CFA since I learned a lot of useful information, but looking back on it I probably could have gone without all the stress and hundreds of hours of preparation after long days at work. Finance is a dead industry… It’s not what it was prior to 2008. Now there’s just a tremendous supply of finance professionals in the market and not enough positions to fill in. Everytime you submit your resume, always remember your resume will be compared to the 100+ others being submitted for the same lowly position. If you’re already in a lowly position that requires you punching numbers in Excel and other systems, stop complaining and just be thankful you have a job in the industry and a chance to progress.

If patience and competition are not your virtues, try going in accounting and getting an accounting title instead. Headhunters are all over accounting professionals like flies are all over a steaming pile of cow manure on a hot summer day.

Finance is dead.

You’re doing something wrong.

www.iwillteachyoutoberich.com/dreamjob