So i got a Job Offer....But.....

Long story short, ive been applying at this company for like 2 years. Rather not say who they are cuz a crap load of people there take the CFA. Anyways, Theyre a huge bank but for the last couple of months i have been a temp there luckily through an agency. I work in their custodial account services for the investment managers. So that in itself (having a job after not working since April) was awesome enough as it was. Its super entry level. And the agency itself paid me only for the days i worked (it was still 40 hours, but i didint work holidays so that sucked). Which was a crappy 18 dollars an hour. Granted this is what i consider my first REAL job out of college, and i REALLY enjoy it. My title is as a securities technician. I pretty much review investment managers account and make sure their international trades clear in the market on time and correctly (and fix it when they dont). So anyways they offered me a permanent position in the company today. Im supposed to expect a call from HR with their offer. I was getting paid 18hr from the temp agency with no benefits or overtime. Whats a good offer? The economy is not so hot, but i know that the other guy who started last year, and im fairly certain he gets paid slightly more than 50k but i think its because he had connections to the VP and has a masters (in chemistry). Im still waiting on my results for level 1 but i dont think that should be a variable. Thanks in advance if you actually read all of this…

Any offer right now is a good offer. What are you going to do, turn them down?

Take it. No employment is for life and you can (and will) always find another job later on.

There’s no reason to take an offer you think is under market by a lot no questions asked. You CAN try to get more, but keeping in mind that they’re in a stronger position. (So don’t do your negotiating like “i want 5K more or I’m not taking it”)