Switch from IT to Business

Hi Guys, I am currently working as an IT Business Analyst Consultant in Trust Servicing business at Jersey City, NJ. I have over 10 years of experience working as an IT Business Analyst in investment banking area. I have passed CFA Level 1 and registered for Level 2, I am planning to switch job as an Associate in IB area. I have about 9 months experience as an Equity Research Analyst with a Broking House in India back in 2001. Do you think I am being realistic in switching? How should I approach the job market and what should be my plan? Any tips or suggestions will be highly appreciated.

no. kids at top business schools arent even getting offers in banking when the firms are actively recruiting them, you have even less of a chance than that and im talking about a 1st year wharton mba student, a 1st year darden mba student, and a 1st year cornell mba student,…3 different schools, three similiar experiences. so aside from the 90%+ users on this site i actually have perspective.

He passed Series 7 too. Therefore, he must be baller.

if you can do it, do it experience trumps mba’s and aholes alike

I love these posts, keep em coming

@ builders Thanks…you seem to have a perspective and you seem to match the opinion of majority that the IB field has not stabilised much in terms of job market. @ mar350 Thank you for your support. I am also banking on my experience and thinking of giving a shot…at least I would have tried! Any other suggestions, thoughts will be appreciated. Should I start floating my CV? How should I prepare?