Time to throw in the towel?

Not sure if I’m being defeatist or a realist, but I’m seriously considering giving up on the CFA path and in need of some words of wisdom. I’ve taken three full-length mocks after putting in about 165 hours of studying already, and my highest score is a 54%. The material is miserable and I really have no interest in any of it(I’m currently a trader, but don’t do much fundamental analysis), but have never quit anything in my life and feel like a loser if I were to give up on this.

I realize that the learning starts with the mocks, but there has been zero improvement so far. On L1, I was scoring low 60’s on the beginning mocks and passed by the skin of my teeth. Am I wasitng my time, or should I quit feeling sorry for myself and suck it up? To complicate things, it’s beautiful outside after a long Winter and I worry that I’m wasting my life away with this stuff.

Help!

Honestly there are too many factors in your life for any of us to give you a truly helpful answer. What’s going to transpire over the next few posts (probably) is a bunch of people putting their own feelings and experience into your situation, and then telling you what to do off of what they feel. So in that light, here’s what I’d say.

If you quit you won’t be a loser. The work you’ve put into it is a sunk cost. If the benefit you’ll get from continuing on isn’t worth the work you’ll have to put in from here on out, then don’t do it. If getting the CFA is worth the amount of work from here on out you’ll have to do, then go for it. Don’t consider the work you’ve already done, or things like “feeling like a loser”. Those are just emotional attachments that shouldn’t factor into your decision.