What do I do? "Promotion", no raise.

Help! My boss just quit to pursue a new career. AND, sorry for the long-winded story. Please help me think this through. A little bit about myself: I work in equities research, have been an associate analyst for four and a half years with my same MD boss at two middle market/boutique-ish banks. Previously I was an equities research editor for a year at the first bank. I have my MSc. Finance degree, but no levels of the CFA out of the way. I am paid what I believe to be approximately 50-75% of market rate for this position: my bank (and previous bank) simply don’t pay out. Here’s the crux: My bank wants me to take over coverage, dropping some names to make it more manageable (from 23 to 10-ish), without taking either a new title or a bump in salary (they have “frozen” salaries this year, and decreased their bonus payout Y/Y - a different issue entirely since we were profitable as a group in 2008 - partly why my boss left). I’d be making recommendations, publishing research under my own name, calling on clients, traveling with management teams, etc. Everything a senior analyst does, only being paid at maybe 25-50% of market rate (I guess, given that I’d be a “fresh” new analyst). They want me to do this for a “probationary period” of three months, after which they’d review my employment terms. I have to sit down with the Director of Research tomorrow and finalize details, but I don’t think I’m getting any more money now and won’t have a title change immediately. I am going to ask for both, and for a clear-cut set of goals and mandates for the three-month review, but I don’t have high hopes. Why I WOULD do this: I want the experience, I want to take on my own coverage, I want to make my own calls and I want to get paid for it. I’ve been slaving away in this industry for five and a half years for peanuts for pay (not what I expected AT ALL) and I want MY payday. I think I can use the experience to get a better job down the line, hop