What is Front Office & Back office

I am totally new to the investment arena. just finished L1. now need to know some of the terms. hearing this everywhere front office and back office. what happens in front office. and what happens in back office.

telljimmy Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > what happens in front office: models and bottles > and > what happens in back office: buckets of bottles

oh. no. I can forsee this thread turning ugly. Basically, FO: generates revenue for the firm BO: does not generate revenue for the firm, and just eats it up

FO, client facing, revenue generating. It’s weird going out and havnig people say “they’re in finance” and then looking them up on bloomberg only to A) not find them or B) read the notes on their profile and it becomes clear that they’re a clerk or assistant. Pretty funny.

Ok. Here is a non-snarky answer: FO are the people who execute the business. So, for instance, if it’s a sales and trading business, sales people and traders are the FO. FO people perceive themselves to be very important, as the revenue effects of their performance are very apparent. BO does operational work that is necessary to the FO, but is not directly related to revenue generation. For example, if traders do a trade, someone needs to handle the settlements, documentation, auditing the positions, and lots of other stuff. These jobs typically fall to BO people.

^ whats the snarky answer?